Chaos Singularity / en /

Welcome

Cosin is short for Chaos Singularity. We are not quite sure what that means, but we do know, what we want with it: We hope to provide a chance for geeks, nerds, hackers, discordians, chaots and other interested or curious people, to meet, learn, chat, have fun and relax. During three days, we'd like to offer the opportunity to investigate technology, think about its effects on society, or just chat with other participants in a relaxed atmosphere.

What is Cosin?

Cosin is a technical and political event, where we intend the hold lectures, operate a network and have a lot of fun. Lectures are going to be in German and English (in the past mostly German). Cosin is a non-profit event, and generally chaotic when it comes to our goals. Originally, we just wanted to offer an event for geeks, hackers and other friends of constructive chaos, to meet, chat and have fun. As such, the event follows a strong do-it-yourself principle, i.e. visitors are not consumers, but participants.

As a courtesy of the political reality, which seems to differ more from our ideals - like freedom of information and protection of privacy - each year, the is also ever more political content. As such, we also hope to provide an opportunity for people with technical and political background to meet and exchange thoughts.

Finally, Cosin is also a good chance for people without technical background, to gain an insight.

Topics

The content of Cosin depends on the participants. Some topics are:

  • Software (e.g. GNU/Linux, BSD)
  • Hardware (e.g. Wireless Routers, amateur radio)
  • Electronics (e.g. soldering workshops)
  • Mate
  • Religious wars (Vi vs Emacs, etc.)
  • Politics (especially information and net-related topics)
  • Fun

More specific information about talks and workshops can be found in our schedule. Besides sharing knowledge and experience, Cosin and the organisations behind it also pursue various long-run objectives:

  • Networking between groups of different geographical areas.
  • Support of free projects around technology and information politics.
  • Advancement of information security.
  • Creation of a broader consciousness for opportunities and risks around information society.
  • Investigation of new technologies and analysis of their impact on society.
  • Understanding the interrelation between technology and information freedom.

Furthermore, Cosin is also meant to offer an opportunity to get to know people and their projects in a relaxed atmosphere.

For Whom?

Cosin is open to everyone, who is interested in technology and it's effects on society. You don't have to be an Unix guru to participate - all curious people are welcome. We'd be happy to meet you at Cosin!

What does the Name mean?

A singularity is a particular point in time and/or space, where everything concentrates (e.g. a black hole - a mass singularity). Chaos Singularity could therefore be a concentration of all chaos. A singularity can be something strange, unusual, peculiar or unique. Furthermore, singularity is the point in time, where the exponential growth in technology becomes infinite. At this point, all development happens extremely fast and almost completely chaotic, making any predictions about the following time impossible.

Cosine is a trigonometric function. It does not have any singularities. The value of cosin(2013) is approximately -0.7242219278469356.

Who organizes Cosin?

Cosin is a chaotic event organised by Chaostreffs of Switzerland, the SheGeeks and the CCCZH. These groups share a common support for the German CCC e.V. and its ideals, in Switzerland represented by the CCC-CH.

The content is provided by all sorts of persons. Everyone is invited to contribute to the program, and we are grateful towards all the people who do this every year.

[Auf Deutsch wechseln]
[Fran├žais]

Chaos Singularity 2013

Cosin is a yearly chaotic event in Switzerland. The content ranges from technical and political, to social and cultural.

Date: June 14th-16th 2013
Location: Villa Ritter in Biel
Entrance: CHF 20
Contact: Cosin orga

Bienvenue

CoSin signifie Chaos Singularity. Si nous ne sommes pas très sûrs ce que cela veut dire, nous savons ce que nous voulons que cela signifiera : une occasion pour se rencontrer et apprendre, pour des contacts, du divertissement et de la détente pour les geeks, nerds, hackers, les voyageurs des espaces numériques, les discordiens, les adeptes du chaos et d'autres intéressés. Pendant trois jours, il y aura l'occasion d'explorer les ordinateurs et d'autres technologies, d'étudier leurs effets sur la société ou tout simplement de discuter tranquillement avec les autres participants.

Qu'est-ce que le CoSin ?

Le CoSin, c'est un événement avec des ateliers, des exposés, des tables rondes etc. Le CoSin n'est pas un événement à but lucratif mais plutôt à but chaotique. L'idée de base était simplement d'organiser un lieu de rencontre selon les besoins de geeks, hackers et d'autres amis du chaos. Donc, l'événement s'organise naturellement selon le principe du "do-it-yourself", c'est-à-dire que les visiteurs ne sont pas des consommateurs passifs mais des participants actifs.

Puisqu'en Suisse comme ailleurs, la réalité politique dévie de plus en plus de nos idéaux de la liberté de l'information et de la protection de la vie privée, le contenu politique est désormais de plus en plus important. Dans ce contexte, le CoSin devrait donner une possibilité pour ceux qui s'intéressent à la technique et à la politique de s'échanger.

Le CoSin doit également permettre de connaître des personnes de groupements différents ainsi que leurs projets dans une atmosphère détendue. Les personnes intéressées sans connaissances techniques sont également les bienvenues afin d'approfondir leurs connaissances au-delà de la simple application.

En plus, les objectifs à long terme du CoSin et de l'organisation derrière sont :

  • Former un réseau des différents groupements au-delà des frontières des cantons
  • Promouvoir des projets libres et dans la technologie et dans la politique de l'information
  • Promouvoir une conscience pour les chances et les risques de la société d'information
  • Evaluer des nouvelles technologies avec un esprit critique et étudier leurs conséquences sur la société

Que signifie le nom ?

Une singularité est un certain point dans le temps et dans l'espace dans lequel tout se concentre; ainsi, un trou noir est une singularité gravitationnelle. Chaos Singularity serait donc une concentration de chaos. Une singularité peut également signifier un événement singulier, c'est-à-dire insolite ou unique. La singularité technologique est le temps où la croissance exponentielle de la technologie atteindra une vitesse infinie et où tous les développements se feront de façon extrêmement rapide et chaotique, ce qui rend des prévisions concernant le temps après quasiment impossibles.

CoSin peut également signifier la fonction mathématique du cosinus, qui elle-même n'a aucune singularité. La valeur de cosin(2017) est de 0.99524904302409956.

Qui ?

L'organisation est basée sur une collaboration entre des particuliers venant de différents « Chaostreffs » en Suisse, des SheGeeks, OpenWireless et du CCCZH. En partie, ces groupements ont des buts différents mais ils ont une chose en commun : ils sont proches du Chaos Computer Club e.V. allemand et ils soutiennent ses objectifs, comme la liberté de l'information.

Enfin, le contenu vient d'un tas de personnes différentes. Chacune et chacun est invité de contribuer au programme d'une façon ou d'une autre, et nous remercions tous ceux qui le feront cette année.

[Deutsch]
[Italiano]
[English]

Chaos Singularity 2017

Chaos Singularity (CoSin) est un événement chaotique qui se tient chaque année en Suisse. Le contenu s'étend de la technologie et la politique au social et culturel.

Date: 16.-18. June 2017
Lieu: Villa Ritter à Bienne
Entrée: CHF 20

Flyer CoSin 2017

IRC: #cosin auf irc.chaostreff.ch