Chaos Singularity / en /

Welcome

Cosin is short for Chaos Singularity. We are not quite sure what that means, but we do know, what we want with it: We hope to provide a chance for geeks, nerds, hackers, discordians, chaots and other interested or curious people, to meet, learn, chat, have fun and relax. During three days, we'd like to offer the opportunity to investigate technology, think about its effects on society, or just chat with other participants in a relaxed atmosphere.

What is Cosin?

Cosin is a technical and political event, where we intend the hold lectures, operate a network and have a lot of fun. Lectures are going to be in German and English (in the past mostly German). Cosin is a non-profit event, and generally chaotic when it comes to our goals. Originally, we just wanted to offer an event for geeks, hackers and other friends of constructive chaos, to meet, chat and have fun. As such, the event follows a strong do-it-yourself principle, i.e. visitors are not consumers, but participants.

As a courtesy of the political reality, which seems to differ more from our ideals - like freedom of information and protection of privacy - each year, the is also ever more political content. As such, we also hope to provide an opportunity for people with technical and political background to meet and exchange thoughts.

Finally, Cosin is also a good chance for people without technical background, to gain an insight.

Topics

The content of Cosin depends on the participants. Some topics are:

  • Software (e.g. GNU/Linux, BSD)
  • Hardware (e.g. Wireless Routers, amateur radio)
  • Electronics (e.g. soldering workshops)
  • Mate
  • Religious wars (Vi vs Emacs, etc.)
  • Politics (especially information and net-related topics)
  • Fun

More specific information about talks and workshops can be found in our schedule. Besides sharing knowledge and experience, Cosin and the organisations behind it also pursue various long-run objectives:

  • Networking between groups of different geographical areas.
  • Support of free projects around technology and information politics.
  • Advancement of information security.
  • Creation of a broader consciousness for opportunities and risks around information society.
  • Investigation of new technologies and analysis of their impact on society.
  • Understanding the interrelation between technology and information freedom.

Furthermore, Cosin is also meant to offer an opportunity to get to know people and their projects in a relaxed atmosphere.

For Whom?

Cosin is open to everyone, who is interested in technology and it's effects on society. You don't have to be an Unix guru to participate - all curious people are welcome. We'd be happy to meet you at Cosin!

What does the Name mean?

A singularity is a particular point in time and/or space, where everything concentrates (e.g. a black hole - a mass singularity). Chaos Singularity could therefore be a concentration of all chaos. A singularity can be something strange, unusual, peculiar or unique. Furthermore, singularity is the point in time, where the exponential growth in technology becomes infinite. At this point, all development happens extremely fast and almost completely chaotic, making any predictions about the following time impossible.

Cosine is a trigonometric function. It does not have any singularities. The value of cosin(2013) is approximately -0.7242219278469356.

Who organizes Cosin?

Cosin is a chaotic event organised by Chaostreffs of Switzerland, the SheGeeks and the CCCZH. These groups share a common support for the German CCC e.V. and its ideals, in Switzerland represented by the CCC-CH.

The content is provided by all sorts of persons. Everyone is invited to contribute to the program, and we are grateful towards all the people who do this every year.

[Auf Deutsch wechseln]
[Fran├žais]

Chaos Singularity 2013

Cosin is a yearly chaotic event in Switzerland. The content ranges from technical and political, to social and cultural.

Date: June 14th-16th 2013
Location: Villa Ritter in Biel
Entrance: CHF 20
Contact: Cosin orga

Chaos Singularity /

Most of the content is also available in english!

Willkommen

CoSin steht für Chaos Singularity. Wir sind uns zwar nicht so sicher, was das bedeutet, aber wir wissen dafür, was wir damit wollen: eine Begegnungs-, Lehr-, Lern-, Kontakt-, sowie Unterhaltungs- und Entspannungsmöglichkeit für Geeks, Nerds, Hacker, Datenreisende, Diskordianer, Chaoten und andere Interessierte. Drei Tage lang soll die Gelegenheit bestehen, Computer und andere Technik zu erforschen, deren Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft zu untersuchen oder einfach nur gemütlich mit anderen Teilnehmern zu diskutieren.

Was ist das CoSin?

Das CoSin ist ein technischer und politischer Event mit Workshops, Vorträgen, Diskussionsrunden und anderem Inhalt. Das CoSin ist nicht gewinnorientiert, und auch sonst eher chaotisch in der Zielsetzung. Die ursprüngliche Idee war es schlicht, einen Event anzubieten, der die Bedürfnisse von Geeks, Hackern und sonstigen Freunden des Chaos abdeckt. Als solches folgt der Event naturgemäss stark dem Do-It-Yourself-Prinzip, d.h. Besucher sind nicht passive Konsumenten, sondern aktive Teilnehmer und Mitgestalter.

Da auch in der Schweiz die politische Realität immer mehr von unseren Idealen wie Informationsfreiheit und Schutz der Privatsphäre abweicht, gibt es je länger je mehr auch politischen Inhalt. Insofern soll das CoSin auch eine Möglichkeit zum Austausch zwischen Leuten mit technischem und politischem Hintergrund bieten.

Das CoSin im soll auch Gelegenheit bieten, Menschen aus verschiedensten Gruppierungen, sowie deren Projekte in einer lockeren Atmosphäre kennenzulernen. Auch interessiere Menschen ohne technischen Hintergrund sind willkommen, sich Einblicke zu verschaffen, die über reine Anwenderkenntnisse hinausgehen.

Darüberhinaus verfolgen wir mit dem CoSin und die Organisationen dahinter auch diverse langfristigere Ziele:

  • Vernetzung der diversen Gruppen auch über kantonale Grenzen hinaus
  • Förderung von freien Projekten in den Bereichen Technik und Informationspolitik
  • Förderung eines breiten Bewusstseins für Chancen und Gefahren der Informationsgesellschaft
  • Kritische Betrachtung von neuen Technologien und Erforschung von deren Auswirkungen auf die Gesellschaft

Was bedeutet der Name?

Eine Singularität ist ein bestimmter Punkt in Zeit und Raum, in dem sich alles konzentriert (so ist z.B. ein schwarzes Loch eine Gravitationssingularität). Chaos Singularity wäre damit eine Konzentration von Chaos. Der Begriff Singularität kann auch einfach etwas Ungewöhnliches oder Einmaliges bezeichnen. Die technologische Singularität bezeichnet den Zeitpunkt, wo das exponentielle Wachstum der Technologie unendlich schnell wird. Zu diesem Zeitpunkt geschehen alle Entwicklungen extrem schnell und fast vollständig chaotisch, wodurch Voraussagen über die darauf folgende Zeit beinahe unmöglich werden.

CoSin könnte auch Abkürzung für die trigonometrische CoSinus-Funktion sein. Diese hat keine Singularitäten. Der Wert von cosin(2013) ist ungefähr -0.7242219278469356.

Wer steckt dahinter?

Organisiert wird das Ganze in einer Zusammenarbeit mehrerer Einzelpersonen aus verschiedenen Chaostreffs der Schweiz, den SheGeeks, Openwireless und dem CCCZH. Diese Gruppierungen verfolgen teilweise unterschiedliche Ziele, haben aber die Gemeinsamkeit, dass sie dem Deutschen Chaos Computer Club e.V. nahestehen und dessen Ziele, wie z.B. die Informationsfreiheit, unterstützen. Die Chaostreffs sind unter dem Dachverband CCC-CH vereinigt.

Der Inhalt schliesslich stammt von allen möglichen Personen. Jede und jeder ist eingeladen, auf die eine oder andere Art zum Programm beizutragen, und wir sind dankbar an all die Menschen, die dies jedes Jahr auch tun.

[Switch to English]
[Français]

Chaos Singularity 2013

Chaos Singularity (CoSin) ist ein jährlicher Event des Schweizer Chaos. Der Inhalt erstreckt sich über Technik und Politik zu Kunst und Kultur.

Datum: 14.-16. Juni 2013
Ort: Villa Ritter in Biel
Eintritt: CHF 20
Kontakt: Cosin-Orga